Savoir-Faire


blason Galichet A year-long task

A quality champagne born of careful work throughout the year. Remy observes nature and he is inspired by the lunar calendar and sayings of our elders when working the vineyard. Work on the vines is still important and begins later, after the harvest in November, with pruning, an essentiall job requiring skills which determine the healthy growth of the vine. Also, we take advantage of the winter to feed the soil with sustainable farming.

pinot Noir

March is the time for tying the fruit-bearing branches to the wire to maintain them in place.

Spring arrives, the first leaves appear and disbudding begins. This consists of removing the buds and the young fruitless shoots located on the old structures of the vine, directly tapping into the sap.  The growth of the vine starts up. The first raising of the wires can begin ; the branches are in place between two wires to maintain them, which facilitate the passage of the straddle tractor.

In June / July, the wires are raised a second time ; this is called “trellising” the aim is to separate the grapes to avoid contact, source of rot.

September is harvest time. Some figures, in Champagne, we need 120,000 pickers to harvest 34,000 hectares with an annual production of 340 million bottles. We hire 60 pickers for 10 days to cut 500 to 600 kilos per day per person. The harvest is the final goal of the year. Once finished, we have to take care of the wines. Then the cycle begins again!

blason Galichet Our House style

Our Champagne House located in the heart of the Montagne de Reims benefits from the presence of the Pinot Noir grapes which impart body and strength to the wines.

Each blend is also made up of Chardonnay for the richness of its aromas and its finesse in mouth.

 cuverie cuverie

Savoir-Faire


blason Galichet Travail de toute une annéepinot Noir

Un champagne de qualité nait d’un travail soigné tout au long de l’année. Remy observe la nature, s’inspire du calendrier lunaire et des dictons de nos aînés pour travailler la vigne. Le travail aux vignes reste important et commence plus tard, après la vendange, en novembre, avec la taille, travail de savoir-faire primordial dont dépendra la bonne pousse du plant de vigne. Aussi, nous profitons de l’hiver pour nourrir les sols et ce dans une démarche de Viticulture Raisonnée.

Mars, vient ensuite le temps du liage qui consiste à lier les brins fructifères taillés sur un fil métallique afin de les maintenir.

Le printemps arrive, les premières feuilles apparaissent, l’ébourgeonnage peut commencer. Ce travail consiste à éliminer les bourgeons et jeunes pousses non fructifères situés sur les vielles charpentes du cep, puisant directement la sève.
La pousse de la vigne s’active. Le premier relevage peut commencer ; les brins sont ainsi relever et placer entre deux fils pour leur maintien, le passage du tracteur enjambeur étant facilité par la suite.

En juin / juillet, c’est le deuxième relevage aussi appelé « palissage », l’objectif étant surtout de séparer les raisins pour éviter leur contact, source de pourriture.

Septembre, le temps de la vendange. Quelques chiffres en Champagne, ce sont 120 000 vendangeurs qui récolteront 34 000 hectares pour une production annuelle de 340 millions de bouteilles. Pour la maison Galichet ce sont 60 vendangeurs qui s’activent pendant 10 jours pour couper 500 à  600 kilos par jour par personne. Les vendanges, c’est la finalité d’un travail d’une année. Les vendanges terminées, on doit alors s’occuper des vins. Puis le cycle recommence !

 

blason Galichet Notre Style

Notre Maison installée au coeur de la Montagne de Reims privilégie dans ses assemblages le Pinot Noir, apportant du corps et de la puissance aux vins. Chaque cuvée est également composée de Chardonnay pour la richesse de ses arômes et sa finesse en bouche.

 

 cuverie cuverie

Enregistrer

Enregistrer